Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve had a lot of blog hits in the last few days from various places I’ve called home, so I want to stress that I’m still alive, for starters.  Things have just been moving at an insanely fast pace recently and I haven’t had time to do much of anything, let alone blog.

A lot has happened since I last wrote.  My store manager, after unsuccessfully interviewing people for the vacant position over mine, asked me to consider moving up.  As another of my bosses said, I was already doing a lot of the duties of that position, so I accepted.  So now I’m the supervisor over the entire women’s department at my store.  I’ve only technically been in the position for a week, and while it’s overwhelming at times and pretty stressful right now, I think things will be easier once I’m really settled into it.  At least it’s beginning to feel like I’m getting the hang of it now, just in time for the holiday shopping season to start.

I’ve had a terrible cold for the last couple of weeks, but have still tried to get out and see other parts of DC on my days off.  I’ve really enjoyed getting to see some of the neighborhoods in the District proper–there’s some great architecture, street art, and coffee down that way.

Other than work and the little bit of getting out and about that I’ve done, there’s not much going on here, mostly because I don’t have any time left over!  The good thing is that I’ve been too busy to dwell on things that make me sad, for the most part, but the bad thing about that is that when I do have time to think, I’m sadder than ever.  Today a lady came in to buy new pajamas for all her grandkids to open on Christmas Eve, and Meem used to do that.  I have to admit that it was really hard to keep my composure. This first holiday season without her is going to be terrible, no matter what, but here’s hoping I can power through it and delay the inevitable breakdown until January when maybe I can take some time off.

