Tags

, , ,

You guys.  I have been dying to write this post.

It seems like, at least for now, duloxetine is my wonder drug.  If you’ve been following my blog for a couple of years, you know I felt this way about citalopram at one point too.  But honestly, comparing how I felt after getting used to citalopram and how I felt after getting used to duloxetine, there’s a world of difference between the two.

With the citalopram, I still had a lot of side effects long after I adjusted to taking it.  Yes, there have been side effects with duloxetine–the worst of which is the horrible sweating, especially at night–but it’s done so much for my mood.  I’m much less irritable, and I’m a lot more upbeat in general.  I’m starting to lose some of the weight I put on while on citalopram, not as quickly as I’d like, but still, it is coming off little by little.  My doctor put me through a battery of blood tests earlier this week, wondering if there might be an issue with my thyroid (upon examination, it was slightly enlarged), but all the blood work looked good.

I have to schedule a chest x-ray at some point soon, but haven’t done it yet, too busy with work.  Oops?  I’ve been having trouble catching my breath after panic attacks, and I still have acute attacks every couple of weeks.  Sometimes it takes hours before I can breathe even semi-normally again, and I know my lung capacity has decreased significantly since the days of me playing in three different bands at a time.  The breathlessness, more than anything else, is why I don’t play clarinet much these days, and saxophone very rarely at all.

The one lingering issue I’m having is the constant exhaustion.  That was a lot of why my doctor wanted to do the thyroid testing.  I guess it’s entirely possible that I just need a lot more sleep now than I used to, since I do a pretty physical job and am prone to overdoing it because I’m a perfectionist when it comes to my work.  I went to bed before 8 pm last night and slept pretty well until my alarm went off at 6:30, and ended up having a really good day at work, even though it was a long shift and my team was scrambling to get a lot done so we could finally get totally caught up on Sunday, when we all have to be there at 6 am (gross).  I feel like we’re ahead of where we expected to be, though, so that’s a good feeling.

