Tags

, , , , ,

I’m still alive!  In all seriousness, I feel a lot better than I have in quite a while.

Starting in mid-January, I decreased the dosage of my citalopram from 40 mg/day to 20 mg/day, and about a week ago my psychiatrist had me start taking a different antidepressant (citalopram is an SSRI, what I’m taking now is a SNRI, there’s a little here about the differences between the two classes of medication).  The thing is, he prescribed and gave me samples of a newer SNRI called Pristiq, which my insurance kind of covers…but my out-of-pocket cost would be about $150/month, and there’s no generic.  Can’t afford that, so I’m going to ask him to write me a prescription for Effexor’s generic, venlafaxine, instead.  Pristiq is just a newer formulation that takes a step out of the absorption process, basically, and I’m okay with adding that step back in if it means I’ll pay $5/month instead of $150.  In the meantime, I’m taking the samples of Pristiq because hey, why not.

Dr. Husband is incoming.  You read right, folks–Dallas has successfully defended his doctoral dissertation, so on May 6, we have a hooding ceremony to attend!  I am so stinkin’ proud of him.  He’s worked incredibly hard to get here.  I’m just hoping there’s going to be an awesome job coming down the pipe for him very soon.  Today when we went to the dentist he updated his information to indicate that his new title is “Dr.” instead of “Mr.”.  It was pretty amusing.

Work is going extremely well.  Late last week, I interviewed for a promotion, but didn’t get it.  In my defense, half my store interviewed for this newly-created position, including some people who have worked for the company way longer than I have.  Even so, I guess my bosses were surprised about how much I’ve learned about merchandising, they’d just like to see me exhibit a little more leadership when it comes to teaching new people the ropes.  That’s always been hard for me–I don’t want for people to think I’m telling them what to do–but I am trying.  My store manager told me he thinks I’m one of the strongest associates in the store, which made me feel really good about being such a perfectionist when it comes to my job duties.

So yeah, I guess everything is pretty all right at the moment.  We’re doing well, cat is doing well, and I’m truly optimistic about where our lives are going.  There have been a few bumps in the last few weeks, but nothing I couldn’t handle, sometimes even without help, which is a huge improvement–untreated (or on the wrong medication), my anxiety has made it difficult for me to make any kind of decision alone.  It’s made me freeze up when faced with a tough situation.  It’s robbed me of any self-confidence I ever had.  But things are definitely looking up.

