Tags

, , , , , , , ,

WordPress kindly notified me just now that my blog is two years old today.  And what a wild two years it’s been.

Two years ago, I started this blog to chronicle our really-long-distance relationship.  A year ago, I was eagerly counting the days until Dallas would come home for good.  Within this last year a lot of things have changed, mostly for the better:

  • Dallas has been home and making tremendous progress on his dissertation.  The exact timeline is yet to be determined, but he expects to schedule his defense for late January and graduate in early May.  He works so hard that I can’t help but think that many good things are in his (and our) future.
  • After much pleading and urging from both Dallas and his mother, I finally admitted to a medical professional that my anxiety was out of control.  Now it’s much more manageable, thanks to a combination of medications and what one of my friends rather amusingly referred to as “hippie bullshit” (guided meditations, breathing exercises, yoga, and a library of looping nature sounds on my phone for when things get really overwhelming).  Don’t knock it until you’ve tried it.  I sleep much better now too.
  • I have a job with supportive bosses, coworkers who are like family, and workplace duties that make me feel like I’m actually making a difference in my store.  I won’t lie–all those months in customer service were very hard on me, because as an introvert with an anxiety disorder, relating to people is not exactly one of my strong points.  Now I can look at everything I’m supposed to do and work out a way to get it finished.  There are no nebulous goals to meet, and I take a lot of pride in my work.  The only drawback is that it’s a lot more physically taxing than any other job I’ve held in the last five years, so I am usually pretty tired.  It’s hard for me to stay awake past about 10 pm because typically I start my work day at about 7 am.  (Tomorrow I have to be there at 6, so I should already be in bed.  Whoops.)
  • We live in a lovely apartment that I’m proud to call home.  At first, Dallas’ mom was not happy we were moving, but I’m convinced we made the right decision.  Yes, there are more bills to pay this way, and money will be even tighter after we get married because I’m taking over full repayment of the student loans my mom took out to help me through my bachelor’s degree (I currently pay about half of the monthly payment), but Dallas has been happier, more relaxed, and more productive.  He cooks for me and tidies up the apartment while I’m at work so I don’t have to come home and do it all.
  • In under a month, we will be newlyweds.  After all this time, all we’ve seen and done and been through, the good times and the bad, I will finally be able to call Dallas my husband.  It’ll be nice to make it legal, and as an added bonus, all of our friends can get married now.  We’ve discussed how relieved we both feel about that.  It’ll be great to see some of my family, his family, and quite a few of our friends–at this point, we’re expecting between 25 and 30 people.  Something small was exactly what we both wanted.

Here’s to a couple more years of blogging, I suppose…though nothing can quite reach the seven years I wrote regularly (sometimes more than once a day) in my LiveJournal back in high school and college.

(lol, LiveJournal.)

