Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I had today off.  I have tomorrow off too.  So I’m trying to enjoy it as much as possible, because my opportunities for relaxation will be very limited in the next couple of weeks.  Today we went to the craft store and looked at a few things…I have some ideas for wedding lunch decorations now, and I just need to get the supplies.  And, um, make the time to do all this do-it-yourself stuff.

This will have been my first full weekend off since January, and the first time in a little over two months that I’ve been scheduled to have two consecutive days off.  Working in behind-the-scenes store support has a lot of perks, but occasional Saturdays off might be my favorite of these.  Unfortunately, things won’t stay this chill: I have Tuesday off, then I’m off Thursday because I’m seeing my doctor about my citalopram in the afternoon…and then I work seven days straight (though that isn’t terrible; a lot of those days are short shifts). I’m in customer service Wednesday night and Saturday night, which is unfortunate because I can count on getting out later than scheduled Saturday night and I have to be back at 7 am Sunday.  Here’s hoping neither Wednesday nor Saturday causes me to break out in stress hives again.

The seven-days-straight thing is so I can have three days off for Dallas’ cousin’s wedding (well, two for wedding things and one to recover), so that’s cool.  We’ll be spending a lot of time in the car getting there and back, but I’m looking forward to it.  After that, only six weeks until ours!

The other exciting thing going on right now is that Dallas and I have put an application in for an apartment on the other side of town.  As much as I love his parents, it would be awkward to keep living here with them once we’re married, and I can’t help but think he might be a bit more comfortable if we had a place of our own and he wasn’t constantly worrying about what his parents think of his working, eating, and sleeping habits.  I’m hoping we’ll get a call from the property manager on Monday or Tuesday letting us know we’ve been approved so we can start getting things figured out.  It would add a few minutes to my commute to and from work, but the apartment complex is right on a lake and we’d also have access to a pool.

If we get the thumbs-up from the property manager, the apartment is supposed to come available middle of next week and we’d probably try to start getting things moved right away.  I’m not sure if we’d start staying there right away if we get it–we’re planning to buy our bed, dresser, and a couple of other things from IKEA in Atlanta, and depending on my work schedule, we may not be able to get up there for a few days after the apartment comes available.  However, we’re going to buy a mattress and box spring here in town, so if we can get Dallas’ dad to help us pick it up and move it (he has a bigger truck than Dallas does), it would be okay to sleep on a mattress on the floor for a couple of days, I guess.

It’s all very exciting, but I don’t want to get my hopes up just in case it doesn’t work out.

