I already need a nap next week

I’m glad I had a good day with my family today, because I’m not going to be seeing much of them for a while.

My department at work has, at least temporarily, lost someone due to medical issues, so management has been scrambling to cover her shifts.  In addition, Easter is a week from today, so we’ll have extended hours at the end of the week.  I’m tentatively scheduled to work until 10:30 pm the last two nights before Easter, which is sort of a problem because I have a hard enough time staying awake until 10:30, let alone actually being productive.

Then on the day after Easter, I start training for my new position, meaning I have to be there at 7 am…not that I’m complaining, that means I’ll be in the store for ages before we unlock the doors, and it’s obviously a lot easier to get things done with the merchandise when there are no customers around.  Unfortunately, due to our short-staffed situation, it looks like I’ll only be training/working in my new position for one day, then it’s back to the department I’ve been in since I took this job back in October for the foreseeable future.  I’ve heard rumors that there are several other people leaving the store as well, so I would guess maybe they’ll hire some new people, but for now, I’m not sure my department can stand to lose another person, even if it’s only for a few hours a week.  It sucks, because I was really looking forward to finally training for the new position, but I’m trying to think of it as another temporary setback (I was approached about this position weeks ago, and have been waiting and waiting to train) and not get too upset.

At least it means I’ll have a couple of really decent paychecks coming up, which are always nice.  And next week, my days off and scheduled shifts coincide pretty nicely with times Dallas’ parents won’t be at work, so I’ll get to see them a lot more.  So there are high points to this.  I’m just going to be really tired.  Between the gym and work, I’m getting back into shape pretty fast.  I just need to get my junk food/portion control problems under control, but I’ve always been a stress eater and, well, I feel very stressed right now.  I have to call my doctor to schedule my six-month follow-up appointment about how my anxiety disorder symptoms have been since I’ve been on medication, and I honestly think I may need to have my dosage increased.  It’s not even necessarily that I’m in more stressful situations, I’m just not handling those situations well.  I guess we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

