Tags

, , , , , ,

This has been a pretty big year for a lot of us.  It’s been so amazing for me that I can’t even think of everything I’m thankful for, today and every day, but I can think of a lot of things!

  • I am, as always, infinitely thankful for Dallas.  He is incredibly supportive of everything I’m trying to do, both on a day-to-day basis and long-term, and, even when I don’t feel like I necessarily deserve it, he shows me so much love and patience.  I still wake up some mornings, think about how I’m going to get to spend the rest of my life with him, and pinch myself.  Even after all this time, it sometimes still feels like a dream.
  • I’m so thankful for my family–parents, grandparents, siblings, aunts and uncles, cousins, future in-laws.  I have always felt very fortunate to be part of such a close-knit and supportive clan, but especially so after I opened up about my long-term anxiety problem.
  • I’m thankful for every last one of my friends.  Again, this was a group of people who stood by me when I was ready to admit my anxiety was something I could not handle on my own and that I was finally receiving treatment for it.  Several people contacted me to let me know that they had been there before, which definitely helped me feel less alone.
  • I am thankful for both my jobs and my rockstar co-workers.  When I was hired at job #2 back in early October, it was as a seasonal employee.  Nothing is set in stone just yet, but from the sounds of things, management is planning to keep me on after the holiday season is over.  I don’t see myself making a career out of either of my jobs, but it’s wonderful to have a purpose and income while I continue searching and applying for jobs in one of my fields, and while Dallas and I wait to hear about the jobs he’s applied for.  I’m honestly not even upset about having to work nearly 15 hours in the 24-hour period starting at 3:30 this afternoon.  All I can think is that it’s money, money, money!
  • I’m thankful for my continuing good physical health and my improving mental health.  Even though I don’t eat as well as I should, my doctor called my last blood work “perfect”, and my iron was only medium-high instead of the high end of normal or even higher.   Last Thanksgiving I had a near-meltdown as my in-laws and I got ready to leave the house to go have Thanksgiving dinner with family friends.  It was nothing against them (they are some of the friendliest and most fun people I know here), it was my social anxiety.  This year, I’m calm and only a little bit nervous about the crowds I’ll face at work tonight (and I suspect I’m only nervous about that because I don’t like confrontation, people yelling at me, and being jostled, not because I’m actually anxious about interacting with people).
