Tags

, ,

We live on land that used to be a peach orchard.  When this subdivision was built, most of the peach trees had to go.  There are still a couple dozen old, grizzled, bent-over peach trees close together along one end of our backyard.  You basically have to cut peach trees back to nothing every so often in order to get them to produce edible fruit, and these have been long neglected, so they get shriveled little greenish-orange peaches that wither up and fall off the tree.  (It smells awful once it gets hot out, by the way.)

But in the spring, those peach blossoms are incredible.  They’re beautiful and they smell okay, especially in comparison to the flowers on the Bradford pear tree at the end of the driveway, which are pretty but smell terrible.  As much as I’d like to get close-up pictures of those blossoms, I think the smell would make me sick to my stomach.

I took all of these with my “big camera”, a Canon PowerShot SX40 HS.  Instead of standing far away to avoid the bees swarming around the peach trees, I got as close as humanly possible and hoped I could shoot in macro mode (one of the few issues I’ve had with this camera is how hard it is to shoot macro; you have to get suuuuuper close and hold very, very still, otherwise the camera loses focus).  I’m pretty pleased with how these turned out.  There were a couple I was unimpressed with, but the rest of them more than made up for it.

peach1

peach2

peach3

