Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve started and saved so many post drafts lately, because I get fired up and write hundreds of words, and then decide it’s something I don’t feel like posting.  My life is pretty boring!  But for those of you just checking up on me to make sure I’m still alive, here we go.

  • At this time in 27 days (!!!!), I will be en route to the world’s busiest airport to get Dallas!  This time, I get to go to the opposite end of the airport–when he flew out to go to Romania, his first flight was just to Chicago, so he flew out of the domestic terminal.  His flights home are Berlin to Paris, then Paris to Atlanta, so when I see him for the first time in over seven months, it’ll be in the international terminal.
  • We’ve all gotten a bit lazy around here, and it shows–we weighed Bo and Gabby the other day.  They are both a bit chunky for mini Aussies; we figured Bo was around 40 pounds and Gabby was about 35.  Wrong!  Bo weighs almost 43, and I think Gabby was about 38.  With Bo’s heart and Gabby’s hips, they both need to drop a few pounds.  Or more than a few, really.  We walked them just under a mile yesterday and poor Bo was so winded halfway through I thought I might have to pick him up and carry him the rest of the way home. 😦
  • As a follow-up to the last bullet point, I feel like I’ve hit a wall where my running is concerned.  I can only consistently jog about a mile and a quarter at once, and I haven’t yet been able to run more than about two and a half at a time.  The last time I tried to push myself and actually run, I ended up making myself sick.  A couple months ago, RunKeeper mysteriously decided to stop working as advertised on my dinosaur iPhone 4, so I put the Nike+ Running app on my phone recently.  I’m going to try the “5K Beginner” coaching program, starting this week. I’m supposed to run/walk a total of 5 miles on the day Dallas gets home, so I guess I’ll be getting started super-early that day.
  • Honestly, I have no idea what I would do here without the internet, as far as personal health and fitness goes.  I don’t have free access to a gym here, and I’m cheap, so I really want to make do with what I’ve got at home.  I can do yoga and Zumba in front of our living room TV because you can stream YouTube videos to it, and various websites and apps have taught me a number of useful bodyweight exercises I can do when I have a few minutes.  It’s incredibly motivating to use GPS on my phone to track where I’m running/walking and how far I’ve gone.  I wish I had a phone with better battery life and more useful features, but when my AT&T contract is up in early March, I’ll probably be heading back to Verizon and getting an iPhone 5S, so maybe that’ll help.
  • I did some number-crunching, and from my highest weight to now, I’ve lost 53.5 pounds.  In three years, I’ve lost about 30% of my body weight.  My mother-in-law is threatening to ship me home to Michigan because she thinks I’m “too skinny”, but my weight has only fluctuated by about 5 pounds in the eight months I’ve been living in Georgia, which in itself is a miracle because there’s sooooo much good food here.
  • I’m trying to cut back on my coffee intake.  It’s hard because I have so much coffee sitting in the pantry, but I’ve been sleeping a lot more soundly at night.  Besides, I tend to put way too much sugar and liquid creamer in my coffee–so not only am I consuming too much caffeine (on my ten-hour work days, I drink at least 16 ounces of coffee, plus various other caffeinated substances), I’m consuming a lot of empty calories, and none of that can be good for my teeth, either.
  • We’re probably actually getting new computers at work soon, and new software on them, meaning my computer geek background will come in handy.  The company we’re getting the software from (should we end up going with them) wants to charge our office almost $2,000 to come in and train us on the software for two days, which is kind of a bunch of crap because it might take me a few hours to learn it well enough to do my job and teach my coworkers how to use it, and I think I have a better idea of how to teach my coworkers than some people who will most likely come in and talk down to them, because I actually know them.  So I guess we’ll see.  That could make things pretty interesting at the office for a while…but my goodness, the computers we’re looking at.  It’ll be like trading in your grandma’s old Buick for a brand-new BMW.  The workstation I use now has less than 1GB of RAM and an 80GB hard drive, and it runs Windows XP, which Microsoft will stop supporting in March or April.  It also frequently shuts itself off while I’m in the middle of something, which serves no purpose except to make me lose valuable work time fantasizing about taking it outside and shooting it.  The computer wasn’t even amazing back in 2005 when it was brand-new, because the computer my computer-illiterate dad got me for college at about that same time had better specs.
