Tags

, , , , ,

I cringe a bit when I see a flood of “New Year’s Resolution!!!!”-type posts on social media this time of year.  You don’t need a new year to be a new you.  You just need the motivation to get off your ass and get it done.  January 1st is just an easy date to remember if you do actually make the progress you wanted to make.

A few months ago, I made this post about some things I wanted to do, but I didn’t want to wait until New Year’s to make a New Year’s resolution to do them.  I feel like I have accomplished some of what I wanted to do.

  1. Drink more water.  Done!  I went from drinking about 48 ounces of water per day to between 60 and 80 ounces, sometimes more.  This was actually really easy: I have two Starbucks venti cold cups; they have an advertised capacity of 24 ounces.  I probably actually put 20-22 ounces of water in the cup at a time because I don’t fill it all the way to the top (learned the hard way that it takes no time at all for a LOT of water to come out of the straw and the opening around it if it accidentally gets knocked over).  Between home and work (I keep a cup at each place), I drink three to four of these cups daily.  There’s no hard and fast rule about how much water you should drink every day, but an easy rule of thumb I’ve seen a lot of places suggests you should divide your body weight by half and try to drink that many ounces of water daily.  Following that suggestion, I’d need to drink 63-65 ounces a day.  The Mayo Clinic suggests women should consume about 9 cups of fluids per day, and I drink coffee, tea, and juice along with all the water, so I feel like I’m doing pretty well.  (And actually, I find that if I’ve had a lot of coffee one morning, I actually want to drink more water than usual throughout that day.)
  2. Get in better physical shape.  Done, sort-of.  I’m still not going out and running/walking much because of my work schedule (side note: I miss living in a place with sidewalks and streetlights; even if I want to go running, I’m a little afraid I’ll get hit by a car), but I try to be as active as possible indoors.  Bodyweight exercises have saved my figure these last few months–my mother-in-law has sternly told me to “quit losing weight” when I’ve actually put a little bit back on, because I just look more toned and fit.  I certainly feel better than I did a few months ago.
  3. Cook or bake something new at least twice a month.  This has been largely unsuccessful.  My first attempt at making a pie crust from scratch was a complete and utter failure, but I have made some other things my in-laws, Dallas’ extended family, and some family friends seemed to like: I made pumpkin muffins and pumpkin-cream cheese bread at Thanksgiving, a pecan pie and a strawberry cream-cheese pie for Christmas, a green bean casserole at Christmas (shut up, I’d never made it myself before), and a crock pot chicken and rice dish my mom made while we were growing up for dinner a few times this fall.  We have just gotten a new crock pot, and it’s been colder lately, so maybe I can sneak a few new dinners into the mix.
  4. Get out with my big camera more this fall and winter.  Also unsuccessful.  What is there to take pictures of around here?  Cats.  Dogs.  Aaaaaaaaaaaand that’s about it.
  5. Cull my closet.  Well, this was a success for a little while, but first came my birthday, then came the after-Thanksgiving sales and the realization that most of my fall/winter clothing was suited to fall and winter in Michigan, not Georgia, and Christmas…

Two and a half out of five isn’t too bad, is it?  These are, of course, continuing goals with no arbitrary end date in sight.

