Tags

, ,

I’ve been listening to a bunch of pop music lately, which is a bit out of character for me.  From the time I was in fifth grade until sometime in high school, I tried really hard to be a tiny snob and listened almost exclusively to classical music, with a little jazz and folk/Americana thrown in.

Thankfully, I outgrew that once I got into high school.

I didn’t listen to what everybody else was listening to–there were two Top 40/pop stations and a few country stations (of course, playing mostly country-pop), and I didn’t particularly care for them–instead, I got into older stuff.  The British Invasion.  Surf rock.  Art rock.  Experimental rock.  Psychedelic rock.  I wanted to hear everything.

My brief, brief career as a music major actually killed my love for music for quite a while.  I couldn’t listen to classical music without thinking about how much of a failure I’d been as a clarinetist.  Even non-classical music made my chest hurt, because so many of my classmates were good at singing and playing multiple instruments.  It took me a little while to bounce back, but when I did, I wanted to listen to everything again.

I’m not sure what’s gotten me to listen to newer pop music so much these days.  Maybe it’s some repressed urge to be a teenager, because I spent so many of my teenage years being that dorky kid nobody liked.  (It was so not hot to be a nerd where and when I was growing up.)  At any rate, I’m trying to roll with this and enjoy it.  I haven’t found a single song by Fun. that I don’t like, I was one of those eagerly anticipating Katy Perry’s “Roar” and Lady Gaga’s “Applause”, and I’m looking forward to Maroon 5’s next studio album.

Crazy, isn’t it?

