Tags

, , , ,

If you follow me on Instagram, you might’ve noticed that I’ve been taking part in a photo a day challenge these last couple of months.  I’ve done this before, because it helps me think a little about what I’m photographing.  (Of course, if I see something awesome, I still take a picture of it!)  It’s nice to have some direction, so I’ve done this challenge in July and August and will most likely carry on in September as well.

I live a fairly regimented life these days.  I work the same five days every week and have the same schedule on all of those days.  Being up at 5:45 in the morning on the days I work means I generally don’t sleep in past 8 on my days off.  I go to bed at 10 p.m. when I have to work the next day, and sometimes when I don’t.  (I really like to sleep!)

Having a specific picture prompt to follow every day has become a sort of ritual–it fits into my daily schedule, but not at any specific time.  As I go back through my pictures or take one to post, it’s easy to think “one more day down, one day closer to being able to see Dallas again”.  It’s kind of a comforting thought, even though we still don’t have a definite end date for his studies.  In addition, having some specific boundaries to work within forces me to think a little.  What can I do that hasn’t already been done to death, or is at least interesting to look at?  That adds a little creativity to my day.  I typically do the same things at about the same time every day, even on my days off, so the variety is nice.

If you want to join me in the Fat Mum Slim September photo a day challenge, the prompts are already up here.  There are all kinds of other photo a day challenges on the internet…poke around Instagram and you may find a few more!

