Tags

, ,

All of a sudden, September is almost here. At home, that meant the first day of school (kids go back ridiculously early here, it’s actually state law back home that school can’t start until after Labor Day), beautiful fall leaves, apple cider (hot caramel apple cider if you were me and did most of your academic work within a stone’s throw of Kaya Coffee House), rainy days, crisp evenings, and chilly nights.

I have no idea what it means in Georgia. Fall is my favorite season back at home, and I don’t really know what to expect from it here. But I’m going to go ahead and put up a playlist I’ve made you for fall, at least, what fall sounds like to me. This is the first fall in eight years I haven’t been in Mount Pleasant; I guess I think of being there when I think of fall. So this playlist is made up of songs I remember listening to as I unpacked, picked up my books, made my first library pilgrimage of the school year, or simply walked around town to see if anything had changed over the summer. Most of the songs are a little wistful, but that’s what I wanted to listen to in all of those little moments. This is just a little slice of nostalgia, if you will.

(Oh, and happy first day of school, Central Michigan University friends!)

  1. “Another Year”, Hotel Lights
  2. “Friends and Foe”, The Frames
  3. “Bird Song”, The Wailin’ Jennys
  4. “The Suburbs”, Arcade Fire
  5. “Fader”, The Temper Trap
  6. “We’re Going To Be Friends”, The White Stripes
  7. “Just Pretend”, The Bens
  8. “Between the Bars”, Elliott Smith
  9. “Harvest Moon”, Neil Young
