Tags

, , ,

Lately I’ve been kind of extremely depressed.  I have good days and bad days, but the bad days have been awful.  Taking this time Dallas and I are apart day-by-day was what I was trying to do, but when even getting through a single day is overwhelming, and you have several days like that in a row, the bad feelings pile up pretty fast.

In an attempt to cheer myself up (not to mention get back into better shape), we’re trying to get out and walk more–by us I mean me and my future mother-in-law.  Tonight we walked about two and three-quarters miles in just under an hour, which is pretty awesome when you consider that a) we haven’t gone out and walked in almost a month due to the weather and b) the heat index was still in the upper 80s-low 90s when we were out there.

It’s also been brought to my attention (repeatedly) that I’m most likely not eating enough, so I’m going to try to be better about that.  I guess I kind of graze during the day, then eat a normal-sized dinner.  Since Dallas isn’t here, I’m not going out and eating all kinds of junk food all the time–I have a bag of miniature Reese’s cups in the refrigerator.  I think I’ve only had a Coke once since he left, and I used to drink several bottles a week.  (I have also had an incredible craving for a cherry limeade from Sonic for a couple of weeks, but oh well.)  So my calorie intake is definitely quite a bit lower than it was in the earlier part of the summer.  I do take a 25 ounce tumbler of iced coffee with milk and crushed ice to work every day, but compared to all the empty calories I was drinking before, I think it’s okay to indulge a little.

So my plan is to exercise more and eat better.  This article suggests that exercise can help lessen symptoms of depression and anxiety.  Plus, now that my tan’s faded and I’ve gotten out of the habit of walking, my legs are looking a little jiggly these days…

