Tags

, , , ,

Today my wonderful fiancé is celebrating his 23rd birthday half a world away from home.  This is one of those days I’ve been looking forward to, but also dreading, because I knew it would be hard on both of us.  He’s in the middle of a grand adventure in Romania (if you’re Facebook friends with him, you’ve probably seen that he’s photographed at least half of the pigeons in Cluj), but I wish he was home, and I think he sort of wishes he could be here too.  He was away last summer on his birthday too, but being in Indiana is something entirely different from being in Europe, and at least then he was headed back to Georgia shortly after his birthday.

I think about how amazing Dallas is every day.  I just don’t say it, because then I’d be bragging.  I’ve never known anyone as smart as he is.  For all of his yelling and being tough when he watches sports, he is one of the most gentle people I’ve ever known.  He’s always the one who wants to help people solve their problems, even when it backfires and puts him in a difficult spot.  He has accomplished so much so far in his life, despite having to overcome a lot of things that would bring less determined people to their knees.  I’m so proud of him and everything he’s doing right now, and I know that his family and my family are too.

Dallas, thank you for being my everything.  Thank you for showing me that there are still good men out there.  Thank you for tolerating my quirks and loving me in spite of my many flaws.  You’re the best friend I could ever ask for, the love of my life, and the man of my dreams, and I can’t wait to be your wife.

Happy birthday, sweetheart.  I love you.

usgrid

 

