Tags

, , , ,

Seeing my fiancé off at the airport this afternoon was hard.  Not helping matters: his flight was delayed.  Originally scheduled to take off at 1:40, he got an email about an hour before he was planning on going through the security checkpoint from the website he booked through to let him know that American Airlines had notified them of a possible delay.  He called American’s flight information line and yes, delayed until 3 pm.  But the airport’s departure boards kept saying the flight was on time for quite a while, and then that the flight was delayed until 3:40.  In the end, we said our goodbyes and he went through security around 2:50.  I don’t think I embarrassed him too badly; I only went through two tissues and nobody stared at me as we were leaving the terminal.

We left the airport, and as we were trying to get out of the enormous parking lot, he texted me to let me know that they’d bumped him and some other passengers from his flight onto an earlier flight that left at 3:20, which was great because his original flight didn’t end up leaving Atlanta until after 4 o’clock.  He made it to Chicago O’Hare over half an hour earlier than the airline had figured the flight would get there, which gave him a little of his lost layover time back to find something to eat at the airport.

We had no idea what to expect of his overnight flight to Heathrow Airport in London.  He texted me from his seat by the gate before boarding began to let me know that he was going to get dinner (even though he’d already eaten) and breakfast on the plane.  We had expected he might get a bag of peanuts and a bottle of water.  In addition, once he boarded, he let me know that the plane was looking like it wouldn’t even be close to full and the guy who was supposed to sit next to him was going to try to move seats so he and Dallas could each get two seats to themselves.  I mean, why cram two complete strangers into a row together when there are whole rows sitting empty?  (I have no idea if it worked out; he didn’t get a chance to let me know before he had to shut off the phone.)  In addition, after we bought him a neck pillow at Hartsfield-Jackson, they gave him a pillow and blanket to use overnight on his flight.  I hope he gets some sleep, because he’s going to have a very full day ahead of him tomorrow.  It’ll be mid-afternoon in Romania when he gets there and they already have activities planned for that evening.

Dallas was very worried about me missing him while he’s gone.  He’s not always the most traditionally romantic guy, so I was very touched to find fifteen little doodles around the house, in places like my makeup case, inside my shoes, in a purse I’m not using, under my pillow, and on the chair I always sit in at the kitchen table.

But the big thing was this note he left in our bathroom.  I’ve taped it up next to the mirror so I can see it every time I go in there.  I am so, so, so very lucky, and I feel incredibly happy and honored that he wants to spend the rest of his life with me.

image

